erg/ infos /

Welcome to erg

Welcome to erg

Since its creation in 1972, erg has defined itself as a research school where the activation of modes and spaces of production enables students to learn while developing a practice.
The articulation of the classes aims at forming a zone of convergence favoring the emergence of unexpected occurrences, of modes of exchange and collectiveness, and of hybridized forms, thus contributing to the training of citizen-artists in relation to the world, extending far beyond the curriculum. Here, what matters is not to offer certitudes, but to gather the conditions for a maximal degree of experimentation that pushes the students to position themselves in relation to their medium while de-constructing it for a better appropriation. In order to de-construct a medium, one needs to manipulate it.
The specificity of the erg’s teaching method lies in its inter- or trans-disciplinary approach, guaranteed by the way students and teachers interact across various disciplines: video, painting, photography, sculpture, drawing, installation-performance, digital arts, typography, graphic design, visual and graphic communication, illustration, comics, animation. In the Bachelor’s program, these interactions take place in pluri-disciplinary workshops organized as clusters: Art, Narration and Media. In the Master’s program, four programs are proposed: Art Practice, Critical Tools (Art and Simultaneous Contexts), Narrative and Experimentation (Speculative Narration), Politics and Experimentation in Graphic Design (Editorial Design, erg-edit, Politics of the Multiple / Practices of Graphic Design and Scientific Complexity). Students also have the opportunity to familiarize themselves with other practices through in-school internships, during workshops organized by the teachers with external guests and open to multiple orientations, or through the use of various learning sites (video editing room, super 8 lab, sound lab, print lab, and so on).

Technical tools
Spaces dedicated to production and action are becoming more diverse. The first years are marked by a maximal degree of experimentation in relation to these spaces. Experimenting the nature of a workshop: a computer, a table, a stage, a kitchen. The multidisciplinary workshops are not confined to the classes, as every space in the school may lend itself to experimentation: the auditorium, specific classrooms, the cafeteria, or the various exhibition spaces. The plastic development of ideas, projects, external commissions, or acts of communication is a process that occurs and operates within its very elaboration. It is a necessary stage: imagining, making, seeing, saying. It matters to accompany the students at they venture in critical territories uncharted by traditional manuals.
In order to address the issue of production conditions, the tools the students manipulate must be explored and understood: software, pigments, typography, film, or voice. Is form determined by history, IT companies, technical limitations, economical means, the workspace?

Critical and theoretical tools
One must also explore the issue of the critical conditions of productions pertaining to the existence of the students’ projects: with what analytical tools are we looking at things? What are the sources of these tools? Who is talking? To whom? In what kind of economic, political, and social system? In what kind of history? Throughout the curriculum, the purpose will be to support a form of resistance and epistemological disobedience to the norms and the codes of history. An art practice articulated around the possibility of a critical thought necessarily places its references and its objects within a geopolitical context. Practices cannot be separated from their sites, their forms, and therefore from their techniques, their time, their relations to other artists, art forms and situations.

Collective tools
A specific attention will be given to productions that may have a parallel existence according to various formats: performance, video, lecture, publication, or graphic design. These forms are explored collectively by learning from and questioning the other. The working conditions raise the issue of group work, as the group is a necessary condition for experimentation. This collective work will therefore be central concern for the teaching and administrative team. Such a stance will lead to probe the way the school functions and evolves, as well as the way artists, authors and scientists work. Inviting them to observe the kinds of relations that are developed, the protocols that are established, and the kind of hospitality that is offered.
These educational priorities are elaborated with the erg’s team of teachers, together with a program inviting actors from the fields of art, science, and humanities in the form of workshops, seminars, and public interventions.
Erg is a place dedicated to artistic, plastic and graphic practices that venture in theoretically and formally critical zones. It offers spaces and pedagogies to be defined and re-defined collectively. It is a place where one may learn from what does not work – that is, a place dedicated to research.

erg – école de recherche graphique – is an École Supérieure des Arts (ESA), a free, autonomous higher institution providing long-type education, funded by Belgium’s French Community. erg belongs to the 5 institutes attached to St.-Luc Brussels.

erg/ infos /

Bienvenue à l’erg

Bienvenue à l’erg.

Depuis sa création en 1972, l’erg se définit comme une école de recherche où l’activation des modes et espaces de production conduit l’étudiant-e à apprendre en faisant.
L’articulation des cours est une zone de convergence suscitant l’inattendu, l’échange, le collectif, la forme hybride, contribuant ainsi à former des artistes- citoyen-nes en relation au monde, bien au-delà de la période de formation. Il ne s’agit pas, ici, d’apporter des certitudes, mais de créer les conditions d’une expérimentation maximale favorisant le positionnement de l’étudiant-e face à son médium, tout en le déconstruisant pour mieux s’en emparer. Et pour le déconstruire il faut le prendre en main.

L’enseignement de l’erg se différencie par l’approche interdisciplinaire ou transdisciplinaire, garantie par le croisement d’étudiant-es et de professeur-es provenant de différentes disciplines : vidéo, peinture, photographie, sculpture, dessin, installation-performance, arts numériques, typographie, graphisme, communication visuelle et graphique, illustration, bande dessinée, cinéma d’animation, dans des ateliers pluridisciplinaires qui les rassemblent par pôles en Bachelors : art, narration et média. Et au travers des 4 programmes proposés en Master : Pratique de l’art, outils critiques (Art et contextes simultanés), Récits et expérimentation (Narration spéculative), Politique et expérimentation graphique (Design éditorial, erg-edit, politique du multiple / Pratiques graphiques et complexité scientifique). Les étudiant-es ont aussi l’occasion de se confronter à d’autres pratiques dans les stages réalisés en interne, lors d’ateliers proposés par les enseignant-es avec des invité-es extérieurs et ouverts à plusieurs orientations ou lors de l’usage de différents lieux d’apprentissage (salle de montage vidéo, labo super 8, salle son, print-lab, etc.)

Outils techniques

Les espaces de production, d’action se diversifient. Les premières années sont le moment de l’expérimentation maximale de ces lieux. Expérimenter ce qu’est un atelier : un ordinateur, une table, une scène, une cuisine. Non seulement les cours sont des ateliers multidisciplinaires, mais aussi les lieux de l’école même peuvent le devenir aussi : auditoire, salles de cours spécifiques, cafétéria, lieux d’exposition. La réalisation plastique d’idées, de projets, de commandes d’autrui, d’actes de communication est un processus qui arrive, qui opère dans sa réalisation même, il faut passer par là : imaginer, faire, voir, dire. Il faudra accompagner le risque des étudiants et des étudiantes à explorer les zones situées hors des manuels de toute sorte.
Afin de pouvoir se poser la question des conditions de production, il s’agit d’ouvrir et de comprendre les outils qu’ils et elles ont dans les mains : softwares, pigments, typographies, films, voix. La forme est-elle déterminée par l’Histoire, les compagnies d’informatique, par les limites techniques, par les moyens économiques, par le lieu de travail ?

Outils critiques, théoriques

Il faut aussi se poser la question des conditions critiques de production, d’existence du projet : avec quels outils d’analyse regardons-nous ? Quelles sont les sources de ces outils ? Qui parle ? À qui ? Dans quel système économique, politique et social ? Dans quelle Histoire ? Il s’agira de soutenir tout au long du cursus une résistance, une désobéissance épistémologique aux normes et codes de l’histoire. Une pratique artistique articulée sur la possibilité d’une pensée critique situe ses références, ses objets dans un contexte géopolitique. Aucune pratique n’est indépendante de ses lieux, de sa forme donc de sa technique, de son époque, de ses liens avec d’autres artistes, arts et situations.

Outils collectifs

Une attention particulière est portée à ces productions qui peuvent exister selon différents formats parallèlement : performance, vidéo, conférence, publication, graphisme. Ces formes se pratiquent collectivement, en apprenant et en interrogeant l’autre. Les conditions de travail posent la question du travail en groupe. Un groupe nécessaire à l’expérimentation. Et donc, poser ce travail en collectif au centre aussi de l’équipe enseignante et administrative. Et ainsi s’interroger sur comment se développe le travail de l’école, comment travaillent les artistes, les auteurs, les scientifiques. Leur demander d’observer les types de relations qui s’établissent, les protocoles qui se posent et quelle hospitalité est proposée.

Ces priorités éducatives sont travaillées avec l’équipe d’enseignants de l’erg conjointement à un programme d’invitations de personnalités issues des champs artistique, scientifique et des sciences humaines, dont la présence au sein de l’école prend la forme de workshops, de séminaires et d’interventions publiques.

L’erg est le lieu des pratiques artistiques, plastiques, graphiques qui entrent dans les zones à risque théoriques et formelles. Un lieu et des pédagogies à définir et redéfinir collectivement. C’est un lieu où l’on peut apprendre de ce qui ne marche pas. Un lieu de recherche donc.

L’erg, école de recherche graphique, est une École Supérieure des Arts (ESA), enseignement libre de plein exercice et de type long, subventionnée par la Communauté française de Belgique. L’erg est un des 5 instituts de St-Luc Bruxelles.